Skip to main content

Leicester City Football Club

Leicester City FC badge


Leicester City Football club was formed in 1884 and was originally known as ‘Leicester Fosse’.

In 1890, the club joined the Football Association and played their games at numerous different grounds including Victoria Park and the Belgrave Road Cricket and Bicycle Grounds. They moved to Filbert Street in 1891.

Also in 1891, ‘Leicester Fosse’ joined the Midland League. They were promoted to Division Two of the Football League in 1894 after finishing in second place.

Leicester were runners up in the Second Division in 1908 which saw them get promoted to the First Division (the highest level of English football). They were later relegated and only lasted one season in the First Division.

Leicester Fosse Football Club

When League football resumed after World War I in 1919, ‘Leicester Fosse’ folded due to financial difficulties but was later reformed as ‘Leicester City Football club’.

The team were managed by Peter Hodge during the early 1920’s who was replaced in 1926 by Willie Orr.

Leicester had reasonable success in the 1920’s but weren’t so lucky in 1930’s when they were relegated twice.

In 1949, the team reached the FA Cup final for the first time but unfortunately lost to Wolverhampton Wanderers. They reached the final a further two times in the next couple of years, but won neither.

City beat Stoke which saw them claim the League Cup for the first time in 1964.

They had a bad start to the season in 1968 but still managed to reach the seasons FA Cup final, which is their last to date. They lost out to Manchester City.

Leicester, under new management by Jimmy Bloomfield, were back in Division One in 1971 and relegated in 1978. This period is the longest that the team have spent in the top league.

City were up and down during the next few years and just missed out on being relegated to the third tier of the league in 1991.

A new manager was appointed in 1991 in the form of Brian Little. At the end of the 1991-92 season the Premiership was formed and although they made it to the playoff final, City lost out on promotion to Blackburn Rovers.

After playoffs in 1994, Leicester were finally promoted to the Premiership, but after Brian Little quit, new manager Mark McGee was unable to keep them from relegation, which happened in 1995. At the end of this year, McGee left the club and was replaced by Martin O’Neill.

Under the management of O’Neill, City secured an immediate return to the Premiership after beating Crystal Palace 2-1 in the Play-Off Final at Wembley.

Leicester had four successive top ten finishes in the Premiership and won the League Cup twice (1997 and 2000) which made O’Neill the first manager to win silverware for 26 years. The two League Cup wins meant Leicester qualified for the UEFA Cup in 1997 and 2000. This was their first European competition in nearly forty years.

Martin O’Neill left Leicester City in 2000 and joined Celtic. He was replaced by formed England U-21 coach Peter Taylor. He was sacked the following year after a string of poor results, which ended up in relegation from the Premiership.

King Power Stadium LCFC

At the beginning of the 2002-2003 season, City moved into the new 32,500-seat Walkers Stadium (which was later renamed as the King Power Stadium). Shortly after this, the club went into administration with debts of £30 million. They were later rescued by a takeover led by former ‘home-grown’ player Gary Lineker.

The team managed to get back into the Premiership in 2003 but only lasted one season. The relegation left them in the newly named Championship (former Division One).

In November 2007, Ian Holloway was appointed as manager after an unsuccessful run of managers. He made history when he became the first Leicester manager in over 50 years to win his first league game. The team failed to stay in the Championship after this season and were relegated. With this relegation, Holloway left the club and was replaced by Nigel Pearson.

City returned to the Championship in the next season and reached the play-off’s in 2010 after finishing in 5th place. Unfortunately, they lost in a penalty shoot-out to Cardiff City.

Nigel Pearson left the club in 2010 and was replaced by Paulo Sousa a month later.

The same year, owner Mandaric sold Leicester City Football Club to Thai-led group Asian Football Investments (AFI). As Mandaric was an investor in AFI, he was retained as club chairman, but left in 2011 to take over Sheffield Wednesday. Vichai Raksriksorn was appointed the new chairman.

After a poor start to the 2010-2011 season, Sousa was sacked and replaced by Sven-Goran Eriksson.

Despite having a two year contract, Sven-Goran Eriksson left City in October 2011 and was replaced by former manager Nigel Pearson. City finished in 6th place at the end of the 2012-2013 season. They made the play-off’s but lost out to Watford.

In April 2014, after 10 years, Leicester were promoted to the Premier League after beating Sheffield Wednesday. The club became the champions of the 2013-2014 Football League Championship in the same month.